RECIPE: Tandoori king prawn skewers with spinach, peas and avocado

I love to cook. But some nights all I want to do is to pick up the phone and order a creamy chicken tikka straight to my door with all the trimmings, dropping £20 in the process, and crash on the sofa in a curry coma to let my newly ballooned stomach deflate.

I love a good takeaway, but unfortunately my wallet, and waistline, won’t let me make it a regular habit. So I like having a few fast and tasty takeaway inspired dishes in my recipe arsenal to stave of the delivery man.

I recently started using tandoori paste and have found that you can pretty much smother anything with it for a tasty, tender (and pleasantly light) Indian fix. Having picked up a supersize bag of reduced price raw king prawns from the Tesco fish counter recently, (a bargain at £4!), I decided it was time to give prawns the tandoori treatment. Prawns and avocado go together like salt and pepper making a delicious accompaniment to my skewers along with some rice, peas and a bit of spinach. Delicious.

Tandoori king prawn skewers with spinach, pea and avocado
Tandoori king prawn skewers with spinach, pea and avocado

TANDOORI KING PRAWN SKEWERS WITH SPINACH, PEAS AND AVOCADO

(Served 2)

  • King prawns – raw are best
  • Natural or greek yoghurt, or creme fraiche
  • Tandoori paste – I used Pataks mild tamarind and ginger
  • Peas
  • Spinach
  • Avocado
  • Rice

1. Take your prawns, defrost if necessary, and mix with about 2 tablespoons of yoghurt or creme fraiche and 3tsp of tandoori paste. Stir gently until the mixture is completely mixed and the prawns are covered.

2. Cover the prawns and leave to marinate. I made my prawns up in the morning before work so they would be nicely marinaded by the time I got home at six, so about 10 hours

3. Heat the oven to 200c.

4. Skewer the prawns onto meals kebab sticks length ways at two points, and bake for around 8 to 10 minutes, but keep an eye as too long will make them tough.

4. Put the spinach, fresh is better but frozen is fine if its defrosted already, and peas in a pan, cover with water and bring to the boil.

5.  Cut the avocado in half, take out the stone and peel off the skin. Cut the avocado into thin slices and ‘fan’ out onto a plate. (It looks pretty.)

5. Serve with rice and maybe a few poppadoms, with a bit of mango chutney on the side. Yum.

Leave a Reply

